Microsoft recently reenabled the ability for customers to delete Azure tenants. This was possible in the early days of Office 365 but later disabled until more safeguards were imolemented to prevent the accidental deletion of tenants. To delete a directory in Azure, the following conditions must be met:
- The only user in the directory is the global administrator who will delete the directory. Any other users must be deleted before the directory can be deleted. If users are synchronized from on-premises, then sync will need to be turned off, and the users must be deleted in the cloud directory by using the Management Portal or the Azure module for Windows PowerShell. There is no requirement to delete groups or contacts, such as contacts added from the Office 365 Admin Center.
- There can be no applications in the directory. Any applications must be deleted before the directory can be deleted. Note: It is not possible to delete a directory if an application has been added from the Azure AD Application Gallery, even if that application is subsequently deleted. We are working to remove this limitation.
- There can be no subscriptions for any Microsoft Online Services such as Microsoft Azure, Office 365, or Azure AD Premium associated with the directory. For example, if a default directory was created for you in Azure, you cannot delete this directory if your Azure subscription still relies on this directory for authentication. Similarly, you cannot delete a directory if another user has associated a subscription with it. To associate your subscription with a different directory, click Settings -> Subscriptions -> Edit Directory. For more information about Azure subscriptions, see How Azure subscriptions are associated with Azure AD.
- No Multi-Factor Authentication providers can be linked to the directory.